Why I choose to become a software developer

Atwijukire Brendah is my name, a graduate of Computer Engineering.

I was introduced into the world of computers and the fields that revolve around it when I was offered software engineering at University. I changed the course to computer engineering while I realized that software engineering was more of programming which I had no interest in at the time. I was inclined to the physics and math's in other words I was interested in more of the hardware than the coding.

With my computer engineering course at campus, I was less exposed to programming though I knew of its existence and even often times tried to learn and improve myself in this area. This was through some self study and initiative and looking out for opportunities where I can learn and enhance my knowledge in this interesting field.

Reasons why I finally choose to become a Software Developer

  1. Peer Influence
    The little efforts to dive into software development were brought about by influence from classmates venturing and producing some works like websites and apps for personal use and for business.

  2. Business Opportunities
    After my campus, I was offered a project that included developing a desktop application for an individual. Although I was not confident about my coding skills I took up the project with a friend, I then realized that there are good monetary benefits in software development and hence an area to consider.

  3. Free time
    I thought it a good idea to incorporate coding into my schedule, both for personal growth and knowledge especially in my free time.

  4. Part time
    Besides the free time, I thought of turning to coding as a part-time activity.

  5. Need to expand my technical knowledge
    I have always felt a huge gab in transforming what I have learned about programming into a practical environment.

  6. Develop software for personal use
    It was my great desire to be able to produce my own material.

    If only you could put in as much effort, then it means you could be as good as the rest! which is very inspiring knowing there is hope that one day you can get there.

I am a strong believer of everything can be #learned and so is the reason I have chosen this path.

With that said, I am grateful and excited to have started this journey with #KanzucodeFoundation. Thank you for this amazing opportunity.